

Shipowners' Club: Board Appointments

7 December 2023 – The Shipowners' Club, the leading P&I insurer in the smaller and specialist vessel sector, is delighted to announce the appointment of four new directors to its Board. These co-options were agreed at the Club's Board meetings in August and November 2023, effective from the Club's Board meeting which takes place in March 2024.

Commenting on the appointments the Club's Chairman, Donald A. MacLeod KC, said:

"The Club's Board seeks to ensure peace of mind for all its 8,500+ Members and their 34,000+ vessels. In so doing the Board has responsibility for ensuring that the Club is run for the benefit of all Members, across the globe and across vessel types. These Board appointments result in a further strengthening of the Board's expertise across the Club's areas of operation, including geographic and vessel spread and business management.

"We thank each new Board Member for the time and energy that they will devote to serving the Club's Members and we look forward to benefitting from the considerable expertise that they will bring to our deliberations."

The appointments are detailed as follows:

Mark Ko is the Executive Director of the Club's longstanding Member, Tian San Shipping. Mark's business is based in Singapore and has a fleet covering passenger ferries, Ro-Ro barges and workboats. Mark is also Co-Chair of the Maritime Port Authority of Singapore's Harbour Craft Safety Work Group and is a Member of the Singapore National Maritime Safety at Sea Council.

Eline Muller is co-owner and a senior executive of the Club's longstanding Member Multraship. Eline's business is based in Terneuzen in The Netherlands and has a fleet providing harbour and terminal towage, sea towage, support to the offshore energy and marine infrastructure industries and emergency response salvage. Eline is an active member of the International Salvage Union where she is chair of its Salvage sub-Committee. She also engages with other shipping industry bodies such as the European Tug Owners' Association and the Royal Dutch Shipowners Association.

Siana Surya is President Director of the Club's longstanding Member PT Berlian Laju Tanker. Siana's business is based in Indonesia and has a fleet of Oil/Chemical Tankers, LPG Carriers and LNG Carriers. Siana is a member of a number of marine related committees and boards, including the Indonesian Advisory Committee of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects and the Indonesia Committee of Nippon Kaiji Kyokai, ClassNK.

Simon Swallow is the recently retired Chief Executive of the Association's management company, The Shipowners' Protection Limited. Simon served the Club for 32 years, including 8 years as CEO. He has a wealth of P&I experience and of all aspects of the business that stems from the Club's core P&I service, including knowledge in the areas of (re)insurance and insurance broking.

Donald A. MacLeod KC

Chairman

ENDS

Notes for editors

The Shipowners' Club is a mutual marine liability insurer, providing Protection and Indemnity insurance for small and specialist vessels since 1855. The Club is a member of the International Group of P&I Clubs and works with more than 600 brokers globally to insure over 34,000 vessels across a range of operating sectors and geographical areas.

Media contact

Maddie Newell The Shipowners' Club T: +44 20 7423 7171

E: maddie.newell@shipownersclub.com

W: www.shipownersclub.com